The Tata Sons board voted on 17 September 2026 to take India’s most closely watched unlisted company public, after the RBI blocked its escape route. Tata Trusts, which owns about 66 per cent, says it never agreed.
Why RBI Closed the Exit Door
The Reserve Bank of India classified Tata Sons as an “upper layer” NBFC in September 2022. An NBFC, or non-banking financial company, is a lender or investment company that is not a bank.
The upper layer tag is reserved for the largest and most systemically important of them, and it carries one hard rule: list on a stock exchange within three years. That deadline passed in September 2025 with Tata Sons still private.
Tata Sons had been trying a different route. In 2024, after repaying more than ₹21,000 crore of debt, it applied to surrender its registration as a Core Investment Company (CIC), an NBFC that mainly holds shares in its own group companies. If the CIC registration went away, the listing rule would go with it.
The RBI answered in a letter dated 11 September 2026. It said the application could not be accepted and asked the company to proceed with an immediate stock-market listing. On 17 September, the central bank also issued fresh NBFC FAQs setting out the reasoning behind that refusal.
What the Board Decided on 17 September
The Tata Sons board met in Mumbai on Thursday, 17 September 2026 and cleared two resolutions.
First, it approved moving ahead with the listing. Second, it approved a fresh five-year term for N Chandrasekaran as executive chairman.
Both went through by a 4 to 1 margin, with Tata Trusts chairman Noel Tata voting against and Chandrasekaran abstaining on his own reappointment, according to reports of the meeting.
The reappointment is a reversal. Chandrasekaran, 63, had written to directors on 12 August 2026 saying he would not offer himself for a third term when his current one ends on 20 February 2027. The board’s Nomination and Remuneration Committee met on 3 September and asked him to reconsider.
Why Tata Trusts Says the Vote Does Not Count
Tata Sons is not owned the way a normal company is, and that is the heart of the dispute.
| Shareholder | Approximate stake | Public position on listing |
|---|---|---|
| Tata Trusts | About 66% | Opposed |
| Shapoorji Pallonji Group | About 18.37% | In favour |
| Tata group companies | About 13% | Not stated publicly |
| Individuals, largely Tata family | Balance | Not stated publicly |
Under Article 121 of the Tata Sons articles of association, directors nominated by the two principal trusts, Sir Dorabji Tata Trust and Sir Ratan Tata Trust, hold affirmative voting rights on certain reserved matters. In plain language, a veto.
Tata Trusts says its position as majority shareholder has not changed and that it did not agree to the listing. It has called the board resolution on Chandrasekaran a legal nullity, arguing the veto was wrongly overridden.
The board is reported to have relied on a legal opinion that the chairman carries a casting vote when the board is deadlocked. The Trusts dispute that reading.
The AGM is the Real Test, and It Has No Date
Both the listing decision and the reappointment need to be ratified by shareholders at the Tata Sons annual general meeting. That meeting was adjourned in August 2026 and has no confirmed new date.
The delay is procedural but serious. The articles require the two principal trusts to jointly nominate a representative for the AGM, and an order of the Maharashtra Charity Commissioner concerning Sir Ratan Tata Trust has held that process up for months.
Governance specialists quoted in Business Standard have pointed out the obvious arithmetic: a shareholder holding 66 per cent can vote both resolutions down. Until the AGM happens, Thursday’s board vote sets a direction, not an outcome.
How Tata Group Stocks Have Moved This Week
Tata Sons itself is unlisted, so the market has been trading the listed Tata companies that own a slice of it, or that would be re-rated if a listing unlocked value.
On Tuesday, 15 September 2026, that trade ran hard. Tata Chemicals hit its 20 per cent upper circuit on the BSE and Tata Investment Corporation rose in double digits, on expectations that a listing had become unavoidable.
Friday morning went the other way. Around 10:00 AM IST on 18 September 2026, Business Standard reported Tata Chemicals down 8.08 per cent intraday, Tata Investment Corporation down 3.17 per cent, Tata Motors down 3.05 per cent and TCS down 2.75 per cent, with TCS the single biggest drag on the Nifty IT index. Tata Capital was among the few gainers, up 1.54 per cent.
Those are intraday figures from the morning session. Closing prices for 18 September will differ.
What Investors Should Actually Track From Here
Nothing about a Tata Sons IPO is fixed. There is no draft red herring prospectus, no issue size, no price band and no timeline. Any “Tata Sons IPO date” circulating right now is speculation until the company files with SEBI.
The things that will actually move this story are narrower: whether an AGM date is set, whether Tata Trusts takes the dispute to court, and whether the RBI sets a fresh compliance deadline. The RBI is reported to have filed a caveat in the Bombay High Court in this matter, a routine step that ensures it is heard before any order is passed against it.
For now the only exposure available to a retail investor is indirect, through the listed Tata companies that hold stakes in Tata Sons. Holding any of those shares requires a demat account, which is where shares are kept in electronic form with NSDL or CDSL.
Anyone following a story that moves this fast will also want an online trading platform showing live prices through market hours, 9:15 AM to 3:30 PM IST, rather than relying on end-of-day figures.
A stock swinging 20 per cent up one day and 8 per cent down three days later, on the same underlying story, is a reminder that this is a news-driven move rather than a valuation-driven one.
Investments in securities are subject to market risks. Read all related documents carefully before investing. This is not investment advice.

Leave a Reply